The time is now

Happy new year, and welcome to the re-launch of something I have wanted to do for a very long time – blog! I have tried blogging before, but “the timing wasn’t right,” “I don’t know what to blog about,” “I don’t have time,” and the list of excuses could go on. Well, fact of the matter is the timing is probably never going to exactly right, there is always something to share about the agriculture industry, and I may not have all the time in the world, but I need to make time.

So, the time is now. As an communicator, it is important to share my story to others so they feel more connected to the food they eat each and every meal.

For those of you who don’t know who Jess Harsh is, I am an Agriculture Communication img_2808master’s student, currently, at the University of Florida. I grew up on a grain production farm, but quickly found my love (and some say an obsession) with cows. I love being outdoors, talking with people (I was always that student who was told to be quite in grade school), learning their unique story, doing DIY projects, spending time with friends and family and most of all connecting people to the industry that supports life as we know it.

66503951-kjc_6845_2
My heifer, Maeve, from Junior Nationals this summer along with the rest of my family who supports me ALL the time! Photo taken by Focus Marketing Group, June 2016.
fullsizerenderOne of my new year’s resolutions was to blog more. I outlined what I wanted to blog about, how many times I am going to blog – the whole deal. Well, it motivated me to actually want to follow through on this resolution. I mean, sharing the story of agriculture is my job, career and passion. So, why not start now?

 

img_2561Moving from the the Midwest to the South has given me a whole new perspective on agriculture and the depth and breadth of it.  I grew up in the industry, but in the Midwest you think of corn, soybeans and livestock. When you think of Florida, at least when I did, I thought of the beaches and fullsizerenderDisney. Not agriculture. Turns out, Florida is known for their cow/calf operations, is the top in orange production and has hundreds of different agricultural commodities.

 

I am super excited to start this new, regenerated adventure of blogging, and sharing my stories and experiences with you all. I will cover more than just cows – don’t worry! I would like to touch on all aspects of agriculture, issues that are going on and a little bit of lifestyle posts every now and then. This will be a learning adventure for me as I continue to learn more and more about Florida agriculture every day. Most of all, I want it to be fun and not something “I have to do.” If there is something you would like for me to blog about feel free to reach out and bounce ideas around! Be sure to follow “The Harsh Truth of Agriculture” as well to stay up-to-date on my latest blogs.

Have a blessed day, and I am looking forward to 2017!

Jess

One comment

Leave a Reply

