#PhotoFriday: Alligator Style

Photography has always been something I enjoy doing, and recently I have been able to take that enjoyment and start turning it into a mini side business.

I have all these pictures I have taken, but I am the only one who gets to enjoy them. So, I have decided to start doing #PhotoFridays! That way, you all can enjoy some awesome pictures, and catch up on what might be going on that week.

This week, I picked the american alligator. As you know, in Florida, gators are pretty BIG deal. I mean the UF mascot is a Gator!

Being from the north, these creatures certainly fascinate me. Below the picture are some fast facts about gators to share with your friends. While I am a huge fan of gator boots, there is more to the story of a gator than just a cool pair of boots.

Have a blessed weekend!

Jess

img_1111watermark
Feel free to share. Do not remove watermark. 
  • Females typically are 10 feet long, but males can be much bigger.
  • The record for Florida’s longest gator was a male who was 14 feet, 3 1/2 inches.
  • The record weight was 1,043 pound which was found in Alachua County (the same county University of Florida is located in)
  • The survival rate for alligators is relatively low. Only about 5 of 38 eggs laid make it to “adulthood.”
  • Gators are raised for their meat and skins, and hunting traces back to the 1860s.

Click here for more information on the American Alligator!

Leave a Reply

